Internationally Bestselling Author of Fantasy Books for Teens
Aro Ha_0986.jpg

The Last Namsara


The Last Namsara

 

Perfect for fans of Robin McKinley, Kristin Cashore, and Sarah J. Maas, THE LAST NAMSARA was an instant international bestseller, is being translated into 12 languages, and is the first in a three-book series.

 

 
TLN_North America.jpg

THE LAST NAMSARA

In the beginning, there was the Namsara: the child of sky and spirit, who carried love and laughter wherever he went. But where there is light, there must be darkness—and so there was also the Iskari. The child of blood and moonlight. The destroyer. The death-bringer.

These are the legends that Asha, daughter of the king of Firgaard, has grown up learning in hushed whispers, drawn to the forbidden figures of the past. But it isn’t until she becomes the fiercest, most feared dragon slayer in the land that she takes on the role of the next Iskari—a lonely destiny that leaves her feeling more like a weapon than a girl.

Asha conquers each dragon and brings its head to the king, but no kill can free her from the shackles that await at home: her betrothal to the cruel commandant, a man who holds the truth about her nature in his palm. When she’s offered the chance to gain her freedom in exchange for the life of the most powerful dragon in Firgaard, she finds that there may be more truth to the ancient stories than she ever could have expected. With the help of a secret friend—a slave boy from her betrothed’s household—Asha must shed the layers of her Iskari bondage and open her heart to love, light, and a truth that has been kept from her.

 
 
 

Praise for The Last Namsara

 

A 2019 Red Maple Honour Book

Named to the 2019 Texas Tayshas List

Tome Society 2020 It List Nominee

One of Indigo’s Top Ten Best Books for Teens of 2017

One of my favourite books of all time. - Tomi Adeyemi, #1 NYT bestselling author of Children of Blood and Bone

An accomplished fantasy novel, of the kind I think of as "royal palace shenanigans", raised above the commonplace by one marvellous central premise - the idea that dragons are the custodians of the old tale. - Joanne Harris, #1 Sunday Times bestselling author of Chocolat

Hugely enjoyable entertainment. Kristen Ciccarelli is most definitely an author to watch. - Edward Cox, author of The Relic Guild 

Ciccarelli creates a fully immersive world before tearing it apart, casting doubt on who is bad, who is good and who is telling the truth. - The Globe and Mail

This coming-of-age narrative shows the struggles of learning to trust one's own mind and heart. Fantasy YA readers will love this story of a girl and her dragons. They will be dying to know what happens on their next adventure. - School Library Journal

Ciccarelli layers multiple story threads, pulling each to the forefront at various times and seamlessly weaving them back as the plot moves along ... fantasy fans will be both surprised and pleased that all of this is packed into what seems to be one stand-alone installment. The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)

The Last Namsara is, at its core, about the way we grow as people. It's the kind of young adult fantasy that leaves you breathless as you read, and makes you want to savor every sentence. It's about Asha, the daughter of a king, who caused a tragedy years before and pays her debt by being a dragon slayer for her kingdom. Asha's character development, alongside incredible storytelling, made this one of my favorite books of the year. Pick this one up. You'll be thankful you did. - Monica H., bookseller at Powells

It's always refreshing to see a non-traditional fantasy setting. And a kickass princess . . . a dash of Arabian Nights story magic, plus dragons? Yes please! - Elspeth Cooper, author of The Wild Hunt Quartet

The Last Namsara is easily one of my favourite fantasy books of this year . . . It's fast paced, action packed, filled with a diverse cast . . . Fans of An Ember in the Ashes, Seven Realms, and the Shattered Realms series will devour this. - YABooksCentral

 

 
 

Click here to read the first three chapters.



BUY IT TODAY:

 
 

INTERNATIONAL EDITIONS:

Dutch

Dutch

Czech

Czech

Hungarian

Hungarian

Brazilian

Brazilian

Russian

Russian

Turkish

Turkish

Spanish

Spanish

Chinese

Chinese

German

German

French

French

UK/ANZ

UK/ANZ

Polish

Polish

 
 

UP NEXT IN THE ISKARI SERIES...

THE CAGED QUEEN (ISKARI #2)

AND

THE SKY WEAVER (ISKARI #3)

(Coming Fall 2019)