author of books about deadly dragons, badass girls, and enemies who save each other
Aro Ha_0986.jpg

Books


The Iskari Series

 

Perfect for fans of Robin McKinley, Kristin Cashore, and Sarah J. Maas, THE LAST NAMSARA was an instant UK bestseller, is being translated into 10 languages, and is the first in a three-book series.

 

 
UK_edition_cover.jpg

THE LAST NAMSARA

In the beginning, there was the Namsara: the child of sky and spirit, who carried love and laughter wherever he went. But where there is light, there must be darkness—and so there was also the Iskari. The child of blood and moonlight. The destroyer. The death-bringer.

These are the legends that Asha, daughter of the king of Firgaard, has grown up learning in hushed whispers, drawn to the forbidden figures of the past. But it isn’t until she becomes the fiercest, most feared dragon slayer in the land that she takes on the role of the next Iskari—a lonely destiny that leaves her feeling more like a weapon than a girl.

Asha conquers each dragon and brings its head to the king, but no kill can free her from the shackles that await at home: her betrothal to the cruel commandant, a man who holds the truth about her nature in his palm. When she’s offered the chance to gain her freedom in exchange for the life of the most powerful dragon in Firgaard, she finds that there may be more truth to the ancient stories than she ever could have expected. With the help of a secret friend—a slave boy from her betrothed’s household—Asha must shed the layers of her Iskari bondage and open her heart to love, light, and a truth that has been kept from her.

 

Praise for The Last Namsara

 

Hugely enjoyable entertainment. Kristen Ciccarelli is most definitely an author to watch. - Edward Cox, author of The Relic Guild 

An accomplished fantasy novel, of the kind I think of as "royal palace shenanigans", raised above the commonplace by one marvellous central premise - the idea that dragons are the custodians of the old tale. - Joanne Harris, author of Chocolat

The most simple thing I can say is this is the best book I have ever read and Kristen Ciccarelli is now my favorite author. - Tomi Adeyemi, author of Children of Blood and Bone

This coming-of-age narrative shows the struggles of learning to trust one's own mind and heart. Fantasy YA readers will love this story of a girl and her dragons. They will be dying to know what happens on their next adventure. - School Library Journal

Ciccarelli creates a fully immersive world before tearing it apart, casting doubt on who is bad, who is good and who is telling the truth. - The Globe and Mail

Ciccarelli layers multiple story threads, pulling each to the forefront at various times and seamlessly weaving them back as the plot moves along ... fantasy fans will be both surprised and pleased that all of this is packed into what seems to be one stand-alone installment. The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)

 

Watch the Official Book Trailer:

 
 

 
 

 
 

UP NEXT IN THE ISKARI SERIES...

THE CAGED QUEEN (ISKARI #2)

Sequel/companion to THE LAST NAMSARA. Coming Fall 2018.

AND

UNTITLED (ISKARI #3)

Sequel/companion to THE LAST NAMSARA and THE CAGED QUEEN. Coming Fall 2019.